The Annual Wales YFC National Eisteddfod was held at The William Aston Hall, Glyndŵr University, Wrexham on Saturday 30th of November, hosted by the Clwyd Federation. During the day over 800 members from all over Wales came to take part in the event which was sponsored by supertemps and Lysh Cymru a digital Welsh language magazine.

Members competed in an array of competitions including singing, recitation, light entertainment competitions and a number of home work competitions in literature, arts and crafts and photography. Following a full day of competitions it was hosts Clwyd who were the overall winners, taking home the Mansel Charles trophy, with 57 points. Second were Eryri with 50 points and third place was awarded to Ceredigion with 47 points.

The Eisteddfod Chair was awarded this year to Twm Ebbsworth from Llanwennog YFC in Ceredigion for his winning poem. Twm is a student in his second year at Aberystwyth University where he studies Drama, Film and Telivision. The chair was made by Arwyn Davies and sponsoed by the Farmers Union of Wales, Flint branch.

The glory for winning the Eisteddfod Crown for writing a short story went to Sion Jenkins from Clunderwen YFC, Pembrokeshrire. Sion works for ITV Wales in Cardiff as an on-screen reporter, journalist and presenter for ITV Wales and S4C. The crown was designed and made by Mari Ellis a former member of Uwchaled in Clwyd and was sponsored by Corwen Farmers.

First place in the hotly contested choir competition went to Eryri YFC who were awarded the Dyffryn Tywi Cup. Dafydd Wyn Jones from Clwyd won the ardudwy cup for best soloist and he also won the Eirlys Myfanwy Davies and her family cup for the best musical solo.The menter iaith challenge cup for the winning two voice party was awarded to Eryri YFC.

Nest Jenkins from Lledrod YFC, Ceredigion was named as the best individual in the recitation section and was awarded the Wales YFC Cup. Mali Elwy, Owain John and Ebon Elwy won the contemporary song competition and were awarded the Mair Richards Cup. The Joy Cornock Cup awarded for the most promising performance in the Eisteddfod was awarded to Nest Jenkins, Ceredigion for her performance on the harp in the instrumental solo.

The Dyffryn Nantlle cup was awarded to Llangybi YFC, Eryri for winning the Cerdd Dant Section. The Farmers Union of Wales Cup for winning the Homework section was awarded to Ceredigion and the Elonwy Phillips cup for winning the stage compettions was awarded to Clwyd Federation.

Eisteddfod Chairman Nia Parry said;

“It was lovely to see so many members from all over Wales competing and enjoying in Wrexham on Saturday. We had a happy and slick Eisteddfod following months of preparation by the committee. I would like to thank everyone who contributed in any way to the Eisteddfod and congratulations to everyone who competed. It was also great to see Twm Ebbsworth being chaired as the winning bard and Sion Jenkins receiving the beautiful crown. I wish David Price and his committee in Brecknock the very best of luck with the organisation of the 2020 Eisteddfod!”